News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Meters ?

Started by #94, October 30, 2008, 09:19:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

I have a MRC Control Master 20 and would like amp and volt meters to hook up. Where should I look for these? How can these be best used to diagnose troubles ?

Thank you,
Allen

Yampa Bob

Hi Allen,

Please refer to my thread just below yours: 

http://www.bachmanntrains.com/home-usa/board/index.php/topic,6984.0.html

"Bachmann loco current tests":

http://www.bachmanntrains.com/home-usa/board/index.php/topic,6229.0.html

Suggest bookmarking the threads for future reference.

The best reference for wiring and testing is "Easy Model Railroad Wiring" Second Edition by Andy Sperandeo, Kalmbach #12207, ISBN 978-0-89024-349-7.  At about $18, it is a must have.  Chapter 12, "In case of trouble", has lots of information about using analog and digital meters.

Andy's approach is: "I'm not especially interested in electronics, I just like to run trains".  No boring theory, lots of great pictures and clear diagrams.

If you have specific questions after digesting all of this, feel free to ask.  :D

Bob
I know what I wrote, I don't need a quote
Rule Number One: It's Our Railroad.  Rule Number Two: Refer to Rule Number One.

Thank you very much Mr. Bob, you are very helpfull. Now where might I find gauges to hardwire to the Control Master 20? I spent some time searching and found nothing, not even at Radio Shack. Strange that MRC does not list these as an option/ add on. The more I learn about electronics the more fun (less confusing) it all is.

Thanks,
Allen

Tom McDonald

Yampa Bob

I just found the link for the meters I use. Ask for "Lee" in sales.  At half price, grab a couple of them.

http://www.multimeterwarehouse.com/dt830bf.htm

renniks

Bob,

These are no good for Allens permanent connection needs.

Note: When you measure current, Do Not keep the meter over 15 seconds in the circuit.

Eric UK

JerryB