News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

HO DCC operation.

Started by geosinner101, December 13, 2008, 08:46:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

geosinner101

Just acquired a new Spectrum DCC equipped locomotive. What DCC equipment is required to operate a one engine layout? Is the Bachmann 44902 EZ Command DCC Control System applicable?

Also, is the coupler on the Spectrum tender compatable with the Silver line of Bachmann rolling stock. I'm brand new to this HO business. Thanks for any information!

ta152h0

-An ohmeter ( to check for shorts between rails  prior to powering up )
-notebook to keep track of addresses/locomotives
-money
-box of KADEE couplers
-booster transformer ( the one you got is never big enough)
-more money
-track gauge
=I have an MRC Prodigy Advance 2 works well for my use ( intermittent play time )

hew16782

need a good resourse to set up dcc system. wiring switches and crossovers etc

lmackattack

you need a DCC system to control DCC locos a standard DC controller will not operate a DCC loco. DCC is considered usefull if you have more than just a circle track plan and have sidings or spur tracks that will store idle locos wile not in use. It also removes the mess of wires with complex track plans

Yes the bachman EZ command will get you up and running and is great for small starter sets. Personaly I  considered It nothing more than a starter DCC set that allows a new user to get an under standing of DCC and how engines perform with it. If you plan to get more involved in the hobby look into the MRC Andvanced DCC system. it has more functions and is not all the pricey. In the long run it will be better once you get into owning 10 locos and have a larger layout.

Do you have a hook horn style coupler or a Knuckel coupler? the nuckel couplers look like the real thing