Noob question on tandem engines and road numbers

Started by Mogul2-6-0, January 28, 2009, 02:24:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mogul2-6-0

Can I order 2 UP GP40's with different road numbers and run them together?
Is tandem the right word for this?
OR do you apply road numbers yourself?
Or do only more expensive engines come in different road numbers.
Do they then have different Bachmann part numbers?
Can you run 2 non DCC engines with one backwards can you/how do you rewire one?
Should I run one analog and one digital? Can you set the digital up to run backwards manually without full on DCC support.
I'm still learning.  So far I love all my Bachman products.
I searched all over on how to run 2 engines yesterday, couldnt figure it out, then whent home last night and just hooked up my 2 F7A units and they ran great is this correct?  LOL
I'm basically debating wehther to get the set with a dummy GP40 and caboose or 2 seperate engines.

jayl1

A few answers -

1. You can run 2 engines together if your power pack is powerful enough.  (The same brand would probably be better - hopefully they will run at approximately the same speed.)
2. Some companies make engines with different numbers.  Otherwise you can re-number them yourself using decals or dry transfers.  Most companies will have different stock numbers on differently numbered engines.
3. If you are running 2 engines "rear to rear" there should be no difference in operations.  They should run that way right out of the box.  (If not, the wiring on one is mixed up.)
4. A powered engine might not cost much more than a dummy.  That way you will still have a powered one should one stop working.
5. Do NOT run a DCC engine with a DC engine unless you want to burn out the DC unit.

I'll let others answer the DCC questions.

Mogul2-6-0

Thanks a bunch jay, it makes much more sense now.
I like the idea of 2 working locos better than a dummy too.