Meaning of Locomotive Numbers

Started by modelrailroadrookie, December 29, 2008, 06:36:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

modelrailroadrookie

I was just wondering what the 3 digits associated with locomotives mean (for example, 4-4-2. I just made this one up to give you an idea of what I'm talking about.

Please forgive me if this is obvious. I'm a newbie.

richG

Here is how you sometimes can find answers on the 'Net also. This will provide a lot of reading.
The numbers are the Whyte system for locomotive wheels.

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=steam+locomotive+wheels&btnG=Search

Rich

Paul M.

-Paul
[
www.youtube.com/texaspacific

az2rail

Did you figure it out from RichG's link? If not, the numbers represent the wheel arrangement of the steam engine. 4-4-2. The first 4 is the number of pilot wheels - those  behind the front pilot. The second 4 is the number of drive wheels - the large ones that accualy move the engine. And the 2 is for the last set of wheels under the cab. This is the total number of wheels of the engine, and does not include the tender. Loooking at the side, the engine would look like a 2-2-1. Hope that helps.

Bruce
If your parents never had children, chances are you won't either.

GlennW

The numbers for steamers do have meaning:
1) Number of pilot wheels, from 0,2,4,6
0 will be for slow service, usually switching
2 will be for freight
4 will be for passenger, as the truck guides the loco along the rail
2) Number of drivers, 2-4-6-8-10-12
power to move the train
3) Number of trailing wheels,, from 0,2,4,6
the larger the number, the bigger the firebox used to make steam!

Dr EMD

Ah
The French have to be different

A pacific (4-6-2) is a 2-3-1 under the French system.

Dr EMD
(check my ISP to guess where I'm at)
Electro-Motive Historical Research
(Never employed by EMD at any time)

rogertra

Quote from: Dr EMD on December 30, 2008, 02:56:09 AM
Ah
The French have to be different

A pacific (4-6-2) is a 2-3-1 under the French system.