Possible Track and Engine problems -- Need help

Started by JackGS, February 24, 2009, 02:52:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JackGS

I have been doing models for 2 years now. I have 6 spectrum engines ( GE-8 diesels), an FP Santa Fe and a GP-30 all with DCC on board. I have an EZ controller, over 400 feet of track (EZ-track) with 16 turnouts and 8 power strips attached to the track. Approximately 30% of my track is balasted such that you cannot tell it was EZ track.    My problem:

Recently I have my engines stop on the track at various spots then continue on. Sometimes they stop go into reverse then forward. While one engine stops at a place on the track another engine behind it will pass through OK. Then the engine that stopped will go through this section OK the next time around. It is unbelievable and driving me nuts. I have clean the track (over and over again), engine wheels and I also cleaned the wheels of each car that the engines pull. (Man were they dirty).

I need some advice and HELP.

Thanks for your time and consideration.

Jack   :(

Joe Satnik

Dear Jack,

I'm going to guess you have loose/dirty rail joiners (connectors).

Push by hand a lit caboose or passenger car around your layout while flexing (putting some pressure on) the rail joints. 

A problem rail joiner will cause the lights to flicker. 

Hope this helps. 

Sincerely,

Joe Satnik

If your loco is too heavy to lift, you'd better be able to ride in, on or behind it.

grumpy

mitremark

Jack,

How do you have the EZ controller connected to the track?

JackGS

JackGS

Quote from: mitremark on February 25, 2009, 01:33:20 AM
Jack,

How do you have the EZ controller connected to the track?

Mitremark,

My EZ controller is connected to the track via 8 9" Straight terminal rerailers spaced thoughtout the layout.

Jack

Joe Satnik

How many are redundant mainline feeds,

How many feed isolated power districts or blocks?

Any reverse loops?

Joe