News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

HO couplers

Started by peri, March 27, 2009, 11:49:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

peri

Hi to all , I'm a beginner for railroad (and in the forum) and I wish have a little help.
I have some broken couplers in (HO) passenger coaches (McKinley Explorer) and I don't know the type of couplers to choose for replacing them (mark II, medium shank?). ...

Any help would be much appreciated.
Thank's

Perikles

SteamGene

If you need to replace broken couplers, then buy Kadee #5s.  You will never have a broken coupler again. 
Gene
Chief Brass Hat
Virginia Tidewater and Piedmont Railroad
"Only coal fired steam locomotives"

OkieRick

Will a #5 fit on the back bottom of my 2-10-2 tender?  It's a small box & screw.  Like this... (thanks Yampa Bob)

What size to replace that rear coupler?

Okie?

Invacare 2-2-2 TDX5 Tilt Recline & Elevate - 24v - ALS Head Control
God Bless Jimmie Rogers the Singing Brakeman

Yampa Bob

I just took the cover off a USRA Medium, the Kadee #148 Whisker is a drop in replacement. It's the same as #5 except with built in springs.

The way the box is molded I don't think there's room for the #5 spring. I had to back off the screw a bit to keep from binding the coupler.
I know what I wrote, I don't need a quote
Rule Number One: It's Our Railroad.  Rule Number Two: Refer to Rule Number One.

SteamGene

A number 5 will fit.
Gene
Chief Brass Hat

Michigan Railfan

Well, now I have a question. I read on another topic that you could'nt just drop in a Bachmann E-Z mate coupler into the same coupler box as the Horn Hook couplers. I have many cars and loco's with Horn Hook couplers, and I want to replace them. Anyone know anything about this, and what type of coupler I should use?

Guilford Guy

Snip off the coupler box, and glue in a Kadee coupler box with a kadee coupler.
Alex

SteamGene

If you are going to replace a coupler, go to Kaydee.  It's the safest way to go.
Gene