News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

DCC Equipped Loco on Convention DC Track

Started by brewerbruce, April 05, 2009, 10:52:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

brewerbruce

I'm relatively new to the hobby and don't know much about dcc operation.  I bought an Athearn G9001 locomotive off ebay that should have been dcc ready.  As I have read on these forums, a dcc ready loco should run fine on a conventional dc track.  At this point in time, I'm not ready to move to dcc operation.  When I received the loco, it appears it was updated by the original owner to include a sound decoder, as I noticed small non-factory drilled holes in the bottom of the tender.  I'm not sure if it is fully dcc equipped now or not, I didn't take it apart to find out.  When I placed it on my conventional track, the speaker in the tender was working but I got no response out of the loco.  No light, no movement.  This loco was to be MIB, but it looks like it probably was on display for a while.  Other than maybe needing a little oil from sitting around, would there be something with the decoder that is not allowing it to operate?   Do I need to disconnect the decoder to have it run on my conventional track?  If that isn't necessary, could this be a non-functioning decoder?  I do have the rheostat type power supply to this track.  I have no ability to "talk" to the decoder if one has been installed.     

CNE Runner