News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Changing tracks

Started by silverhawk, May 14, 2009, 12:15:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

silverhawk

Hello I know that I'm fairly new to the train collection ,I've just purchased my third Bachmann train set and I don't want to mess these trains up . Two are the Bachmann E-Z Tracks and the last one is the power lock tracks. So I was wondering if I could use the steel alloy tracks instead of using the plastic tracks. Any help would be most grateful

SteamGene

I'm not sure I exactly understand your question, so I have two. 
First, by "plastic track," do you mean track with metal rails and a plastic roadbed? 
Second, do both kinds of track physically mesh with one another?
If the answer to both is "yes," then you can use them together.   
Bachamnn has two types of track, the older variety with steel rails and a black roadbed and the newer with nickle-silver rails and a gray roadbed.  The problem with the steel is it gets dirty faster. 
I hope this helps.
Gene
Chief Brass Hat
Virginia Tidewater and Piedmont Railroad
"Only coal fired steam locomotives"

OkieRick

Gene I think you answered his question...topic is "changing tracks"

Silverhawk-

I'll assume yu're running HO gage.  I don't ue E-Z track but lots here do. Others nail track to plywood bases.  Your train will run on either track.

I've seen discussions in the HO area about connecting E-Z track to track with no attached bed.  Basically, where there's a will there's a way.

Rick
Invacare 2-2-2 TDX5 Tilt Recline & Elevate - 24v - ALS Head Control
God Bless Jimmie Rogers the Singing Brakeman

pdlethbridge

I thought it was "where there's a will, there's a relative" ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

grumpy

Usually more than one
Don

Stephen D. Richards

Ya got that right!   Stephen   :o

jward

Quote from: SteamGene on May 14, 2009, 09:44:05 AM
The problem with the steel is it gets dirty faster.