Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Track arrangements

Started by Larry012, April 11, 2024, 09:58:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Larry012

Hi,
I am getting my grandson started.
Can I connect the basic track oval, delivered with the 00706 Rail Chief, to the E-Z Track Over-Under Figure 8 using a 30 degree crossing track. Or do you have a better solution?
Thanks for your assistance.
Larry

Len

THe 00706 Rail Chief set is HO scale, not O gauge like Williams by Bachmann. You'll be more likely to get an answer asking your question in the HO forum.

Len
If at first you don't succeed, throw it in the spare parts box.

JonJet

The 30-degree crossing can be difficult sometimes...depending on available layout space.  In order to "bring it back" into alignment for parallel tracks requires (4) 15-degree sections. (I have a 30-degree crossing on the N Scale portion of My own layout)

You might want to consider scrapping the crossover idea and simply use the Over/Under as an outer loop - flip the power connection on one loop and DC trains will run in opposite directions.

Bachmann EZ Track is designed to do some amazing things if You explore all the options...and You can actually "create" an exact length track section using a longer section if needed.

jward

The track is compatible, but you may run into problems using the piers. As shown on the box they result in a grade of over 5 1/2%, which is extremely steep and beyond the limits I use when designing my own layouts. WHat this means to you is that your locomotives, particularly steam locomotives, will not pull much on the upgrade section. I have a significantly less steep 4% grade on my personal layout, and the USRA 0-6-0 found in many Bachmann train sets will only pull 3 cars uphill. The diesels fare a bit better on the grade. Using the pier set in the up and over means your locomotives will pull even less on the uphill section.