News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Minimum radius curve for 0-6-0

Started by BuddyL, August 03, 2009, 12:17:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BuddyL

I'm a newbie and have an 0-6-0 loco (Chatanooga).  I am very limited on space and budget and would like to run the  0-6-0 on 15" and 18" radius track.  Will the loco perform good on the 15" radius track and #4 turnouts?

simkon

I would suggest to avoid using 15" radius curves, you know that limits your rolling stock to mostly old-time cars 40' and smaller and no passenger cars.  15" radius is asking for trouble with derailments though.  I am assuming you are using sectional track, not a variant of EZ-track, Uni-track, etc., or flex-track. Even if the 0-6-0 can fit on the 15", I would only consider running something like a dockside tank (0-4-0) or a EMD model 40 "critter", or something else with only 4 drive wheels and a short wheel base.

jonathan

BuddyL,

Just for fun and curiosity, I set up a small oval in my mountain, using 15" radius curves (sectional).  The turnarounds finish-off with a 1/3 piece of 18" radius track... a crude easement if you will.  So the oval really looks a little dogbone like, if you can imagine it.  You would be amazed what I can run on that oval.  ALL of my 8-wheel diesels will negotiate the curves, as will my 2-8-0 Connies.  I intended for it just to have the Gandy Dancer sneaking around, but the Dancer runs so poorly, I now run an ore train on it.  Your 0-6-0 will look just fine on tight radius track.  Just keep the car lengths 40' or less.  Don't let lack of space frustrate you.  I have seen wonderful layouts that were relatively small.  The scenery will make it fun to operate.

Hope this helps and enjoy!

Regards,

Jonathan

Oh yeah, here's a pic of my ore train coming around the 15" radius oval

jerryl