Clarification on "DCC Ready" in Mogul and Consolidation Engines

Started by bnsonger47, August 08, 2009, 05:43:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bnsonger47

I'm looking for some clarification of what "DCC Ready" really means.

The reason I state it this way is due to my background. As a computer systems engineer I learned a long time ago that those who speak in marketing terms use ambiguous terms intentionally. I think "DCC Ready" is a case in point.

I'm rather new to DCC and it's implications in large scale. To my novice mind it is just plain confusing. I've done a search of DCC and came across some interesting discussion here but, to tell the truth, they leave me confused.

Back to my computer background. When I was in sales I would tell people if you want Apple, buy Apple stuff. If you want IBM, buy IBM stuff. Why? Because you really have to know your stuff when you go mixing and matching. Of course, that was back in the 1980's.

I know that, in theory, DCC is pretty standardized. DCC should work across brands. I also know that (layman's terms here) you need a "decoder" in a locomotive and a "controller" tied into the rails to control individual units. By Bachmann stating "DCC Ready" means one of two things to me: Decoder needed or decoder onboard and controller required. Those two issues can be miles apart.

So, to help, here are some questions.

Does Bachmann include a decoder with the Mogul and Consolidation engines?

If not, whose decoders (for placement in the engine) are compatible?

Does Bachmann make such a decoder?

Will the EZ Command with 5 Amp Booster work well? If not, what is required for satisfactory operation?

One final question. Is another technology for controlling multiple engines on the same track better? (I realize this may muddy the water a bit but I believe those of you who think independently understand.)