News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Hey Jim Banner

Started by tford, October 02, 2009, 09:17:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tford

I am fairly new to the hobbie and as i was reading some of your posts on DCC controller ?'s i saw that you were saying something about twisting? or turning the bus wires. please explain what you mean.

Joe Satnik

Dear tford,

Until Jim responds,  Google "twisted pair" or "twisted pair wiring". 

Wiki has a pretty good write-up. 

Hope this helps.

Sincerely,

Joe Satnik
If your loco is too heavy to lift, you'd better be able to ride in, on or behind it.

Jim Banner

You basically twist your bus wires together, one around the other, 3 or 4 times per foot of bus. Keeping the bus wires close together helps the DCC signal reach the far end without degrading.  It is not really necessary on a small layout (one or two sheets of plywood) but when you start getting larger, it may help.  I am not convinced that it is absolutely necessary, but it is easy to do when installing bus wiring and devilishly difficult afterwards.

Jim
Growing older is mandatory but growing up is optional.

tford

Thanks Jim & Joe, I am so glad I found this form Ive learned so much just reading what everyone has to say on so many different subjects.

Thanks again and I will be asking a lot more stupid guestions.

Nigel

The main effect of twisting the wires together (twisted pair) is to reduce the electromagnetic noise that the DCC system picks up.  The signal level does not change, but there is less back ground noise on the line for the decoder to try to "hear" over - just like a noisy telephone line.

As Jim says, length does make a difference, and the shorter the lines are, the less susceptible they are to noise.
Nigel
N&W 1950 - 1955

pdlethbridge

would 30' of 14 gauge copper stranded be safe from noise?

Nigel

Quote from: pdlethbridge on October 03, 2009, 12:12:33 AM