News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

FT-A & FT-B ?

Started by tford, October 24, 2009, 08:26:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tford

Everyone knows by now that I am new at modeling; so here goes. If you are running a FT-A and a FT-B together on the same train and both are powered how do you knon they are running at the same speed? is one pushing or pulling the other?

ABC

Well if you're running DCC set them up as a consist and then make adjustments to the CVs until they both run the same speed, if running straight DC then as long as the gearing and motors are the same they should run well together.

tford

OK, what is a consist and how do i adjust a CV oh yea what is a CV?

Santa Fe buff

Dear tford,
A consist is what makes up a train. For example. The consist is a FT-A, CB&Q Railroad boxcar, and a ATSF railroad caboose.

A CV, well...

A CV is a Control Variable. In DCC, you can control many variables. Or something the train can do. One CV is the horn, the bell. One is the address. Like where you live, it identifies a specific locomotive. So, say you have your FT-A. It is CV 4, or locomotive 4. While the FT-B is CV 5, or locomotive 5. What you could do, is change (program/adjust) them to the same CV (number). Is it possible? YES! It's a basic thing of DCC, just follow the DCC system's instructions on how to program and change it's CV, and then be sure you know what your locomotive can do too! Sometimes they are different then the system, so be sure your following instructions. So, after a bit of fun changing, FT-A and FT-B are both locomotive 4. So, when you go to change it's speed, they both work simultaneously! In perfect tune. If your in DC, where you can only control Speed, Direction, and Power. You just have to guess that since they are nearly the same locomotives that there motors and gearing inside are so identical that they'll rung nearly simultaneously.