Train Set for Christmas Tree

Started by christyson, November 29, 2009, 05:11:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

christyson

Hi,
I am new to train models.  I plan on getting a set for running around the Christmas tree this year for my family to enjoy.  I have two young children, who will not be using it without adult supervision.  And the set will only be set up during the holidays and won't be used year round (til the kids get older).  What scale do people recommend getting? Any specific Bachman sets?
thanks for your help!!

RAM

I would say the bigger the better.  Under the tree you pick up a lot of things. 

GCTTowerA

I would tend to lean to a larger scale like O or G, especially with younger children. I have an HO under my tree, but I have an artificial tree and no carpet to get in the way.

NarrowMinded

I run a G scale around my tree, the big hauler sets come with everthing you need and are good a bagain. you can usually get them cheap on ebay or an online store.

NM

jettrainfan

If they still had the bachmann anniversary set that had a white pass & Yukon R.R. 4-6-0(definitely out of prototype but still good) with the freight cars, I'd totally recommend it! but as NarrowMinded said, Any big hauler set is good.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ZL7jR1cRb4             

This is how i got my name and i hope that you guys like it.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jettrainfan?feature=mhw4
youtube account

ABC

Live or artificial tree, if running on the floor, your best bet is large scale or G scale, as the debris from the tree and floor will cause problems even if the track has a built-in roadbed.

Joe Satnik

Dear christyson,

I have a new, sealed in box Christmas G Scale 90054 "Holiday Special" Annie-Passenger set with Santa Trolley. 

It has an Anniversary model (meaning metal side rods and better detailing) 4-6-0 steam engine and coal tender, coach and observation passenger cars, and a motorized trolley with Santa motorman.