News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

New member intro and 2-10-0 question

Started by Thomas1911, June 21, 2010, 12:50:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thomas1911

Hello all,

My name is Thomas.  I've been playing with trains since I was about 3 years old, I'm now 26.  I've built several small layouts over the years, but was never able to finish any of them for one reason or another.  Several years ago, I started designing a new layout that incorporated features my previous layouts lacked such as larger radius curves, #6 turnouts and an engine service facility.  I then built the two main sections of my design in my parents garage.  A couple years ago, I moved out of my parents into my own house and recently setup my existing sections in a spare bedroom and finished designing and built the remaining sections of the layout.  Anyways, I'll post details and photos of my layout at a later date.

For my question, I recently purchased a 2-10-0 Russian Decapod w/DCC & sound (Item # 84301).  It seems to be underpowered and I'm not sure if it might be a defect or something simple that I could fix myself.  Whether free running or pulling a load, it has difficultly climbing a grade.  My grades are on the steep side at about 4% and it doesn't help they are on the tightest curves on the layout (18"R, will be hidden later), but none of my other locos have problems negotiating these areas.  The small radius doesn't seem to be the problem as it make it through the same radius on level areas of the layout.  I'm fairly new to running steamers and their troubleshooting methods.  Is it possible that any binding from the long wheelbase combined with the grade could be the problem?  Can anyone offer some suggestions I could try to alleviate this issue?  For reference, I'm using a NCE Powercab for control.

Thanks.

Doneldon

Thomas -

Welcome aboard! It's nice to meet you.