News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

crossing track question

Started by wasunka, May 19, 2007, 06:05:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wasunka

This is an HO/On30 E-Z track question.

Assume three parallel tracks, named A, B and C.  A and B are main lines, and C is a yard track.

I want to depart track C, cross (but not enter) track B, and enter track A.

Any suggestions as to track pieces, spacing between the lines, etc?  As I am totally new to E-Z track, I am asking for help.

Thanks,

Joe (wasunka)

Bojangle

I believe the  #5 turnout is 12 degrees, but they don't make a 12 degree crossing to match.  their remote turnout is equivalent to  30 degrees, and they make a 30 degree crossing.  The spacing will be wide due to the sharp angle of the turnout.
Bo

Atlantic Central

This cannot be done in EZ track. You can do it with atlas or Peco track, they have crossings with the same frog anle as their turnouts to all such a crossover.

I haveserval such crossing on my layout using Atlas track.

Sheldon

Bojangle

I just assembled 2 EZ right hand remotes with a 30 degree crossing in between, fits perfectly.  The final track spacing is about 4-5/8 inch (center to center) , a bit wide as I mentioned, but the tracks are exactly parallel. 
At some point in  your layout , you will probably have to cut some custom length pieces.  Various ways to do this, for more info I can email you.
Beware of "Carpenter's Syndrome"---"I cut it twice and it's still too short"   
Bo

Atlantic Central

Bo,

The use of two Atlas #4's and their 12.5 degree crossing gives you perfect 2" track centers.

2" track centers has become the defacto standard in HO. It is a bit wider than actual prototype, but looks good and works well.

On the real railroads land costs money, so tracks are spaced a closely as possible to allow for more in the future if needed and to save land /expense.