News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Turnout Wiring and Caboose Couplers

Started by bobrobin, April 15, 2011, 08:58:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bobrobin

Hi,  I have read this forum for quite a while now and have really enjoyed it and obtained much valuable information.  However this is my first post, so I hope it comes out right.  I am new to N scale (I do have other scales) and have a couple of questions.  I am working on an N scale layout using Bachmann EZ track with 5 turnouts.  I am not using the power routing feature of the turnouts due to the fact that I have multiple power feeds where I need them.  So I decided to use the switch inside the turnout to power leds to show the direction position of the switch.  I removed the existing wiring to the switches in two of the turnouts  and wired them to power the leds but I quickly found out this would not work because the small screw that holds the brass switch in place screws into the frog thus shorting the switch to the frog and rails (it took me a while to figure this out).  My question is does anyone know of any way that I can change this so that I can use this feature of the turnouts like I planned?  Also, my caboose keeps derailing on the turnouts.  I noticed that it has body mounted couplers and all the other cars have truck mounted couplers. Is there a way to convert the caboose to truck mounted couplers like the other cars. Thanks for any help or info.

Albert in N