News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

track usage

Started by jsdranger, August 09, 2011, 09:21:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jsdranger

is it easier to purchase Atlas 83 code flex track and cut it to length or easier to get track lengths of 3 6 & 9" and smaller to fit in to place.

I ask as i am using anyrail to design a new layout and as a newbie i was curious to see which is easier, cutting flex track or using precut pieces

thanks

jonathan

I'm not sure about which is 'easier'.  I prefer to think of it as which kind of track will provide the best results.

The advantage of flex track:  longer lengths of track without joints, means better current flow with less soldering of track joints.  Cutting flex track is not too difficult using a dremel, a track nippers or razor saw.

Sometimes sectional track pieces are more convenient, especially curved pieces when tolerances are going be tight, say a place where your trains are going to be turned at the ends of your layout.  I also like using sectional track for my turntables.

This is just one man's opinion, but the short answer is you need both.  Of course hand laid track is probably the best option, but seems a bit harder. I haven't tried it... yet.

Regards,

Jonathan

Woody Elmore

Jonathan - handlaying track isn't as hard as you might think. You need good gauges  (including an NMRA gauge for switch work and guard rail clearances), a pair of spiking pliers, rail, spikes and a lot of patience.

At out former club we used to purchase bags of precut ties. You need a jig to help lay them and a little practice is helpful. Small spikes are a must. With decent gauges and tools you can lay quite a few feet of track in a short time.

Switches can be purchased or you can make your own. Switches require some practice and forethought.

My only concern with using things like EZ track is that the cost can be a significant factor on a large layout.