News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

N scale cars uncouple on curves

Started by postalwon, December 28, 2012, 08:56:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

postalwon

I have collected and run O scale all my life and I am new to n scale so I don't exactly know what I am looking for as what the problem could be but it seems that one of the sets I got my son is having problems.  We got two n scale sets and an ho set.  The problem is that it seems that the couplers don't want to follow the truck as it goes around the curve.  The other set has no problem on the same track.  I tried to loosen the screw a 1/4 turn that holds the coupler but to no avail.  Any ideas?

skipgear

More information is needed to help.

What sets?
What type of coupler? (Rapido or Knuckle)
What radius track?
Simple curves or reverse curves (a left and right curve connected without a straight track between to transition)
One car only, all cars, what types of cars?
Tony Hines

Modeling the B&O in Loveland, OH 1947-1950

Desertdweller

We can't help you much until we know the answers to Skipgear's questions.

Regardless of whether you are using Rapido couplers (the square hook-shaped couplers) or knuckle couplers, there are two main causes of cars uncoupling on curves.

Are the couplers free to swing side to side with the trucks on curves? Try turning the truck side-to-side in your hand.  Does the coupler snag on anything on the bottom of the car?  If you are using knuckle couplers, they should be free to move side-to-side in their mounting box, too.

Do you have couplers that are out of alignment vertically?  Knuckle couplers can be checked with a MicroTrains coupler check gauge.  Both types can be checked by visual inspection when they are facing each other, or coupled.  If you have a low coupler, it can be raised either with a shim, or by gently bending the coupler box up.