News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

DCC decoders

Started by ebnen, January 09, 2013, 03:38:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ebnen

Hi Everyone !

I am new in this hobby and very new in this forum as well. Please correct me if I do something incorrect.

I need help and would appreciate it if some of you can offer.

I have bought a N scale Spectrum GE Dash 8-40 C diesel Loco, the sales people told me that it was DCC ready so I thought that it's ready to run in a digital system. I learned later that I need a decoder to make it really DCC  :-[

I have searched through this forum and other internet topics but got very confused ! Can someone please let me know which decoder I should get for this Loco ? Do I need to do any modification (milling or removing any capacitors) ? Any photos or video will be of great help to me.

Thank you in advance.

richg

Nothing very confusing. Get a Digitrax DZ125 decoder.
http://www.digitrax.com/products/mobile-decoders/dz125/

Connect according to the diagram you got with the loco. Probably have to solder the wires from what I see on the diagram. I just looked.
DCC ready means ready to connect a decoder BUT, how you connect might be an issue. Some you have to solder, some you have to just plug in but that depends on what type of connector. Other brands of locos might requite a nine pin connector.
Some like the TCS N scale decoders.

This might be similar.

http://www.tcsdcc.com/public_html/Customer_Content/Installation_Pictures/N_Scale/Bachmann/EMD_DD40AX/bachman_EMD_DD40AX.html

I got this from the below link. You can see the difference between DCC ready and non ready for typical N scale locos.

http://www.tcsdcc.com/public_html/Customer_Content/Installation_Pictures/N_Scale/N_Search/search.html

Remember, N scale is quite small and no room for an 8 pin connector like HO and larger scale's.

Rich

ebnen

Hi, Rich

Thanks for your info !