News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Derailment problem Please Help

Started by Curtishelde, January 21, 2014, 05:09:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Curtishelde

Hi there im new to model railroading and recently i bought the n scale bachmann left and right crossovers and i ran my engine and it either derails or gets stuck in the middle on both crossovers and when it hauls all my rolling stock its either gets stuck or they all derail i checked for bumps and nothing there and also i switched couplers to medium magnetic couplers and they seem to be installed right so any help would be much appreciated thank you

gatrhumpy

First, you need to get an N scale or HO scale NMRA gauge, whichever scale you're modeling. Google how to use it, and check your rolling stock, engines, and turnouts to make sure they're properly gauged.

Second, make sure the wheels on your engines are properly spaced apart using the gauge. Please the flanges of the wheels between the indentations. They should freely fit in there. If they don't you need to loosen them.

These tips will help get rid of the majority of derailment problems.

Curtishelde

Are the flanges the screws in order to take the wheels off because I did tighten them tight.

gatrhumpy

No, the flanges are the pizza cutter things that stick out on the insides of train wheels that ride on the inside of the rails. They are larger than the actual wheels that ride on the rails.

They need to be gauged right using an NMRA gauge. Place the flanges in the indentations. If they won't fit or are tight trying to fit them in there, then they need to be slightly pulled apart to get them to fit.

brokemoto

A couple of questions:

What is the locomotive that you are using:  type and manufacturer?

What kind of rolling stock are you operating:  again, type and manufacturer?