News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Ho railcar trucks replacement

Started by kellum410, January 22, 2014, 11:59:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kellum410

I am new to trains bought a bachmann ho small set freight car plastic and three of the trucks the part that snaps them in place have broken where can I get replacements they are also plastic

jbrock27

For some inexplicable reason, my prior response was deleted.

Do these have the couplers mounted to the trucks?
Keep Calm and Carry On

kellum410

Yes they do one small screw any help would be appreciated I got into this to have a hobby with my grandson 5

jward

do the trucks snap into the underframe, or are they held on with screws?
Jeffery S Ward Sr
Pittsburgh, PA

Irbricksceo

are the couplers the newer knuckle style or the old Horn Hook?
Modeling NYC in N

kellum410

They snap into the undercarriage and the coupler like a horn on a impala curves  and hooks in place

jbrock27

k410, now it becomes the $64 (only cheaper) question bc here is the deal:  rolling stock runs better when the coupler is attached to the underside of the car body.  Also "knuckle" style couplers with the little copper spring operate better than the "horn hook" style your car currently comes with. If you are willing to purchase trucks (with wheels) and knuckle couplers and are handy enough, you can modify you cars to have this kind of set up.  The question becomes, it is worth it to you to modify your cars or just replace them?  Your locomotives would also have to utilize a knuckle style coupler to work with rolling stock that has knuckle couplers.