News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

30 degree crossing problem

Started by jcs44, February 10, 2014, 11:18:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jcs44

Hello everyone - newbie here.

I'm putting together a very basic layout for my grandson (8) and myself.  I recently bought a 30 degree crossing for the layout and having problems with derailing almost everytime the engine starts across it.  Sometimes it just stops cold.  Anyone else have problems with these things?  I do have curve sections feeding the crossing.

Thanks, John ???

jbrock27

Do you have the ability to check the gauge of the wheels on the loco?  Do all locos (if you have more than 1) do the same thing?  And if so, all in the same spot?
Keep Calm and Carry On

jcs44

I only have the one engine, GP35, I think.  Seems to always hang up in same spot.  Perhaps there's a plastic burr on the crossing, because sometimes it just stops cold.  Also, since I have curves joining the crossing, maybe the engine trucks aren't totally straight when they reach the crossing (?).

Thanks for the input!

jbrock27

You're more than welcome.

W/o a NMRA gauge, it will be tough to measure the wheels for being in or out of gauge.  If you turn it over, and look at the wheels, do you see any noticeable differences between them?  Have you run the loco as slow as possible toward the trouble spot and watched up as close as you can to see exactly what happens when the loco goes over the trouble spot?
Keep Calm and Carry On

ebtnut

Check to see if one of the loco's coupler pins is hanging down below the railhead. If so, it can snag on the crossing.

Joe Satnik

Dear John,

I assume you have tried to make a Figure-8 using 22 ea. 18"R Curves and the crossing.   

Unfortunately, the 30 Degree Crossing and the 18" Radius Curves together

are not geometrically perfect for that job. 

Try temporarily removing the lower left and upper right curves next to the crossing.