News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Question about body shells?

Started by Highland Rob, August 22, 2015, 03:14:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Highland Rob

Greatings everyone,
This is my first post here on this board. I don't really do the message board thing but thought I would try since I can't find the answers I am looking for.
I recently got back into the hobby after being out of it for about 15 years. I am into HO and N. I sold off all of my stuff when I got out of the bobby years ago. I am a musician and needed $$$ for equipment, but now I have decided to get back into the hobby. I've been buying new and used things here and there.
I recently got an old Bachmann front wheel drive, single axle drive GP-30 in Chessie colors. The engine runs great and I am not planning on using DCC at this point for the switching layout I am building.
The problem with the GP-30 is that the handrails are broken/missing and it has a broken step on the front.
I would like to replace the body shell with a new GP-30 from Bachmann.
I emailed Bachmann's part department and they said the new GP-30 shell would not fit the old frame I have. Maybe it won't indeed, but I was wondering if anyone has tried this and if so how much modifications are needed to get it o work. From diagrams and pictures I've looked at, I can't see a difference. As it stands right now my old Chessie is not in a physical condition good enough to put it on display. I might just bite the bullet and buy a new shell any way, but thought I would consult the board first.
Likewise I have a few N scale F9 frames with shells that are broken or in bad shape that I wish to replace, but I can't find replacements. I tried to buy some NOS F9 shells from th 70's but they did not fit. What do I do since Bachmann has none in stock?
Thanks in advance!
Rob

rogertra

Quote from: Highland Rob on August 22, 2015, 03:14:08 PM
Greatings everyone,