News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

older bachmann diesel engine

Started by mdp, August 01, 2016, 03:30:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mdp

i have and older model that i bought used and was wondering why there appears to be rubber attached to the last set of rear wheels? is this something that i can remove or does it have to stay on. thanks very much

jbrock27

Around the wheel of the loco?  If "yes", that is traction tire.  How many are there? 
When it comes to locos, light years of improvements have been made since those diesels that were run with traction tires as the traction tires often made for poor running qualities.  Sometimes replacement tires can be found, but the a problem remains: they dry out, loose their shape, get nicked.  Overall, does not make for a great (good)  running loco.
How much does this thing mean to you?
Keep Calm and Carry On

mdp

theres one on each side on the rear. Im not attached to it, Im new to this and bought it from a show near my home awhile back

jbrock27

Buy anything else while there?

I suggest that next time, put the $$ toward a loco that does not require traction tires.  Locos with these tires also generally have poor running "pancake" motors, really clunky details and poor paint and big wide open pilots.  Often, unlike more recently made locos, not all wheels on this loco are capable of picking up track power.

The wheels have what you could call "grooves" in them where you see the 2 on the wheels, right?  Do you see any other wheels that have grooves but are missing the tires?    
Keep Calm and Carry On

Len

Quote from: mdp on August 01, 2016, 03:30:49 PM
i have and older model that i bought used and was wondering why there appears to be rubber attached to the last set of rear wheels? is this something that i can remove or does it have to stay on. thanks very much