News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Newbe Questions

Started by johnd, December 28, 2007, 03:46:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

johnd

Got a Empire Builder for Christmas. Looks like it could be lots of fun. Went a bought a couple of EZ track remote turnouts and more EZ track so I could do more than go around in a circle.

Here is the problem - the front wheels on the engine jump the track at the turnouts - not everytime. If you run just the engine and the tender it does ok but as you add cars - the more you add the sooner it jumps the track. I have made sure that the track rails are level. Is there some little trick that the "old pros" know!!!!!

When I build a layout - do I fasten the EZ track to the table and if I do - HOW???

Thank you.

PRRThomas11

johnd-
     I'm not very good with switches but I can help you with the track. Yes- you should fasten the track. The easiest way is use track nails. You can get them anywhere that sells Lifelike brand track. If not there you can find it at any hardware store. They are called "brads" though. You probably already know this but you nail the brads through the little holes in the ties of the track. You can also use glue. Use some sort of Elmer's or wood glue. I have even heard you can use caulk. I wouldn't try it though.

Good luck-
PRRThomas11

P.S. Post pictures of the layout when its done.  ;)
PRRThomas11- "The Standard Railfan of the World" 

GlennW

About your derailments: Get a NMRA gague, check the track, check the wheels. Your LHS should have one to sell you.

The turnouts may need some filing to make everything smooth. Chack with your finger for any little nubs.

The loco & car wheels may be a bit narrow. Be sure to push the wheels evenly so they stay square on the axle.

johnd

Thank you. Appreciate the help.