Running a DC train with the EZ Command plus

Started by jdeilus, January 21, 2024, 07:16:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jdeilus

I purchased the DCC Digital Commander set along with a Thomas and Friends Set. The Thomas and Friends is DC.  I seen on older youtube videos where you can use an interconnector cable to connect your DC controller to the EZ Command.  The EZ command had an additional port in the back for the inter connector cable.  Seems like an excellent Idea.  The new EZ command plus has not port in the back.  Its my understanding that running a DC train on with the EZ command you can only run the DC train by itself, but with the DC controller hooked up with it with the interconnector cable you can run both the DC and DCC trains.  So how do I do this with the EZ Command Plus?

Ralph S

You ask an interesting question.  First off, let me say that I'm not an expert on this.  With that said, I will add some information that you may or may not be aware of.  Lastly, I haven't purchased the EZ command Plus, but I'm contemplating buying it. 

The older EZ DCC controller (model 44901) does allow the connection of a DC power pack controller (model 44212).   Below is an excerpt from the Bachmann DCC controller instruction manual for the 44901.

"...NOTE: WHEN OPERATING A DC LOCOMOTIVE ON ADDRESS "10," BE SURE TO MONITOR IT CLOSELY. SOME DC MOTORS ARE SUBJECT TO OVERHEATING AND DAMAGE WHEN OPERATING FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME ON DCC SYSTEMS.