News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Constant Headlight on On30 Forney?

Started by pandprr, January 03, 2009, 08:16:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pandprr

Hi all,

Anyone know how to modify the circuit board on the Forneys to make the headlight stay on in both directions?

It's easy with standard Tsunami decoders (just connect yellow and white wires together) - but there must be a way of doing it on the Forney circuit board (which has no yellow/white wires of course, just printed circuitry).

With the older style prototype headlamps (oil, etc) they would have been on all the time of course once lit, not on and off each time the loco reversed.

It must just be a simple question of what to 'bridge' on the circuit board - but thats the question.......what?

Don Mason
Nottingham
UK

Mike_AA9ZY

Hello Don!
I'm not a dcc expert by any means, but I wonder if there is a configuration variable that can be adjusted for this.

Any dcc "experts" out there want to comment?

Tim

Don

On the 8 pin socket connect pins 2 (rear light) and 6 (Headlight) together.

Your light should remain on regardless of direction.

Pin 6 is the decoder output to the headlight, pin 2 is the decoder output
to the backup light.

Tim Anders
Souderton, PA

JohnR

It's easy. No cross-wiring required.  CV's 33 & 34 are your front and rear light CV's for F0 (fwd & rev respectively).  A value of 1 turns on the head light.  A value of 2 turns on the rear light. 

If you have oil/kerosene lamps on your loco, you'll want these on irrespective of direction.  For the headlight to be on constantly, set the two CV's to 1.  If you have front and rear lights, and want them on, set the CV's to 3 (1-front + 2-rear).  With the CV's set to 3, the lights will remain on forward and reverse and turn on/off with F0.  If you want the same effect with electric lights and a dynamo, set the CV's to 67 (3-lights + 64-dynamo).

-John

pandprr

Thank you John.