News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Switch BumP

Started by Bruce_Bennett, April 18, 2010, 02:52:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bruce_Bennett

Hello all,
Since Bachman doesn't make track (I hope) I think I can drop a name here. I'm using Atlas 83 track and switches. I've got a problem with SOME switches. I only have two locos at the moment. I'm just getting into this hobby. A 3 truck Shay and a 40 ton GE switcher.  Both these locos have a problem on the curve side of the switch. When comming up the bottom toward the split and going to the curve the front trucks want to slide off the outer track slightly until they get to a point in the curve. Then the inner wheel of the truck will bump or jump. Sometimes going where it's supposed to.  Other times not. This is rather hard to explain without a picture! Anyway, I was wondering if anyone has had this problem and been able to solve it?  Thanks for any help you might be able to give.

Bruce

pdlethbridge

I had a problem with my H16-44 like that the other day. It kept jumping on a crossing. I use code 83 atlas as well and found that a coupler was a touch low. When I fixed it the problem went away.

jonathan

Agreed.

I had the same problem.  The coupler trip pins (bent wire hanging down off the coupler) needed to be adjusted.  A kadee coupler guage will help you immensely.  Trip pins that are little too low, will catch on turnouts every time, always causing derailments.  Most of us have learned that the hard way.

BTW  Bachmann does sell track (EZ track).  Not to worry, you can mention other manufactureres.  Just keep it polite (per code of conduct).  The other company's aren't here to defend themselves.

Regards, and good luck.

Jonathan

Bruce_Bennett