News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Turnouts and switching

Started by BillyG, January 01, 2011, 01:19:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BillyG

I'm new to railroading and need some help with the turnout switching. We bought 5 yo son the "Golden Spike" and  "Your First Railroad Track Pack" for Christmas. I've connected the Track Pack" as shown on the layout on the back of the box. Basically, and oval with an inside loop on one end, and a turnout to back the cars into splitting into two tracks with bumpers. The layout has 4 electric turnouts and two switches (what's that about). The "Golden Spike" had one manual turnout and 1 electric switch (what's that about). Also, I usually do things in a big way so I'm building the whole table as shown in the DVD with mountains, buildings, roads, etc.. The question, four turnouts, three switches, I connected the two turnouts to make the inside loop together, plugged them into one switch. It also makes it easier for the 5 yo not to forget and only switch one. Yesterday, the two turnouts worked together fine. However today, one will only switch one direction. I substituted a different turnout, same thing. Substituted a different switch, same thing. Checked where a stripped and tied wires together, no luck. Any suggestions, what am I not getting?   

jward

it sounds to me like operating two switches at the same time is pushing the limits of the ac portion of your power pack. your best option for right now is probably to only connect one switch to each controller, You can buy additional switch controllers at modest cost.

https://secure.atlasrr.com/mod1/itemdesc.asp?ic=0056&eq=&Tp=

i couldn't find switch control boxes as a seperate item in the bachmann catalog, but the above link shows a similar box from atlas, which is widely available in hobby shops. the wiring of these boxes whould be the same as bachmann's.