News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Code 83 versus Code 100

Started by akinght, January 14, 2012, 08:32:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

akinght

I'm new to model trains.  That being said as I read about layouts I've not found anything that suggests which code track is better to use and why, if mentioned at all.  So my question to all of you experienced model railroaders is this: Obviously there is a height difference between 83 and 100 however what is the benefit if any of using one type over the other.  If the wheels of the truck are all standard with regard to the interior edge it should make no difference...right?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  I plan on purchasing some flex track today however any suggestions would be graciously accepted.

Alan

Woody Elmore

Code 100 represents 152 pound rail - rail that is very heavy and was used only by big railroads like the Pennsylvania. 100 pound rail is very common and that would be represented by code 83 rail. Code 70 would be more for branchline service although I know HO modellers who use code 70 exclusively.

It is a matter of taste. I don't think that most people care that they are using code 100 rail - there are several makers and lots of accessory pieces. Code 83 is a bit more realistic in that it can be has with brown ties.

Flex track is cheaper than sectional track but you need a couple of modeller's tools to cut it. Bachmann track is widely used and you have the added benefit of nice looking roadbed.

Good luck and enjoy your trains!

rogertra