News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

advice needed for a beginner

Started by jdenk, August 09, 2012, 05:49:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jdenk

Hello everyone!

I am looking for some advice to get started.  I have 2 young sons who are really into trains right now and am hoping this can lead to some special time for us for many years.  I remember having a train set when i was younger and I had an uncle who had a huge layout in his basement but I don't have much background.  Should I be investing in a DCC system right away instead of upgrading from a DC in a couple years?  The Bachmann Digital Commander has been recommended on some websites as the best way to start out.  If I go with EZ track do I have to stick with that for my layout.  If i add lights does the dcc controller run those? I'm pretty good with making things but wiring I am a novice at.  I have an unfinshed basement that i plan on setting up in.  I have plenty of wood/lumber to make a table.  I would like 3-4 trains to start out, any ideas on size of layout?  Look forward to any and all suggestions.  Thank you.

mabloodhound

Welcome JD.   The boys will love your trains and so won't your sons.
I presume you're considering HO scale.   The EZ track can be worked into a larger layout later on if you choose.
If you can afford the DCC equipped locos and controls to now, I would recommend them.   Wiring up your layout is much simpler with DCC.   And sound in the locos is something the kids will love.
Others will tell you to start with DC but when you want to run multiple trains, then you need to have blocks wired up.   DCC does not need any block wiring.
As for lighting, the cars are lit by power from the track.   If you mean buildings, etc. you should plan on a separate power supply for those.   A little wall wart will supply light power to a number of buildings.