News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

NEW Climax Loco w/ continuous LOUD HISS?

Started by Cederstrand, February 07, 2013, 11:30:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cederstrand

Using a Digitrax DCS50. Loco is a brand new (HO) Bachmann Climax with DCC/Sound

Put the new Bachmann (HO) Climax loco on the ProgMode track and tried to ID the decoder. It kept coming up with [d nA] (note: checked my other locos on it, no problems reading their decoders) Then stuck the Climax on the regular track and it activates, but makes a constant LOUD HISS. The directional lights, whistle and forward/reverse all work. Though no bell. But that continuous, unending HISS is seriously LOUD??? Something isn't right.
???
How exactly can I fix this? Please keep in mind I am new to DCC and have only programmed loco numbers for choosing which one I want to run at a given time.

Thanks! Rob

ebtnut

I'll leave the decoder issue to the other DCC experts here.  But it sounds like the CV for the pop valve effect is "stuck".  You may have to go to the Soundtraxx site to track down which CV it is and adjust it once you get the decoder talking again.

Artfull Dodger

If you put the CD Rom that came with the engine in your computer, it will give you the actual decoder manual.  I would suggest doing a reset to factory default.  There is a CV that you set to a certain value, I think it was CV30 to value 2 on my On30 Climax but it could be different on yours.  A reset might get the decoder behaving again.  Kind fo like a computer it needs a reboot.  If not progress, I would contact Bachmann customer service  to see about returning for repair/replacement.   Mike
Silly NT's.....I have Asperger's Syndrome!

Cederstrand