News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

modifying a engine with DCC

Started by Carl Bohman, December 16, 2015, 03:41:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Carl Bohman

So I am new to trains with DCC.
I have a Bachmann Set with a Sante Fe engine.
I have purchased a DCC power set and a Bachmann DCC controller with a wire harness.
I see that on the engines motor there is a capacitor and I guess a resistor.
When I add the wires from the DCC controller do I remove the resistor and capacitor?
Thanks in advance!

jlc41

I too am new to model trains. I purchased two Bachmann sets for my grandson. They are DC controlled. One is a 0-6-0 steam loco Chattanooga set. The other is an Santa Fe Flyer set, diesel loco. Can I make them DCC, and how do I take them apart to install the decoders? Also what is the designation of this diesel, i.e. 0-4-0 or 4-0-4???

Hunt

Quote from: jlc41 on December 21, 2015, 08:04:03 AM

. . .  Also what is the designation of this diesel, i.e. 0-4-0 or 4-0-4???

EMD FT diesel locomotive is included in the Bachmann HO scale  Santa Fe Flyer train set.

The AAR wheel arrangement for the EMD FT diesel locomotive is B-B

AAR wheel arrangement method of classifying is used for diesel locomotives, which counts axes while the Whyte Notation method of classifying used for steam locomotives is based on counting wheels.

Click Here for Whyte Notation information

Click Here for AAR wheel arrangement information

jlc41

Thanks for the infoe on the diesel classifications.
Now, how about making the two engines noted DCC???

ebtnut