News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Non-Bachmann bridges

Started by 2ManyHobbies, April 09, 2021, 02:38:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

2ManyHobbies

New guy. New to the forum, new to model trains. If this is a silly question, go easy on me as I'm still learning.

I have been eyeballing this for my setup. Though I'm concerned about if it will work or not for what I'm doing. My first attempt will be using the E-Z track to go across the bridge.

• Support for the bridge will be on both sides and in the middle. Not sure what will work so likely this will be improvised.
  • Slide 36" of E-Z track through the bridge and lie it on top. Connect the 36" of E-Z track to the rest of my track. The track will not be mechanically mounted on the bridge
  • Use the Bachmann 14 pier system to create a grade to and from the bridge.

After measuring the E-Z track width, I'm thinking this should easily slide through and lay on the bridge bed. The bridge should give middle support to the E-Z Track while the piers will support the ends of the track. Being 28 1/4" long, the track will peek past the bridge by about 3 7/8" on each side. Will this work fine or is there more I need to consider?

Terry Toenges

I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work. There is plenty of vertical clearance so the height of the E-Z Track wouldn't be problem. I guess you want to do it that way so you don't have to mess with odd ball pieces of track to get it all connected.
Feel like a Mogul.

plas man

that bridge is lovely , the EZ track should work also I believe Bachmann make 36 inch straight EZ track

Hunt

This may not matter to you if you after toy not prototype look ----  most types of railroad bridges do not have a roadbed like E-Z track.

jward