News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Ez comand plus as a companion

Started by Emt117, December 29, 2023, 11:41:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Emt117

I'm new to this hobby and I've been waiting to run train with a friend of mine who got into the hobby a few months prior to me. We both have Ez comand plus and we have been wondering if its possible to connect them together or if we need to get the walk around companion?

trainman203

You appear to be ready for a more advanced DCC system with seperate cabs, tethered (cheaper but clunky) or wireless (more expensive but complete walkaround freedom.). None of the available systems are cheap but the overall improvement in operational flexibility is incomprehensible. You should keep in mind that EZ command, while being wonderful training wheels for the rank beginner or for train set operations, really isn't intended for more advanced settings like you are  moving towards.

I myself graduated from EZ command to NCE wireless pro Cab after about a year of finding one limitation after another.  And never looked back. Gave the EZ command to a kid who was eternally grateful.  I chose the NCE system after many conversations with other Model railroaders. But they all have their pros and cons, you should do some internet research to check them out.

Ralph S

Your experience in modeling of railroads is similar to mine.  I wanted friends to be able to run separate trains.  Problem back then was that Bachmann did make the "Bachmann walkaround companion".  The walkaround has been discontinued and finding one is very rare today.  I still have my walkaround companions (4 of them) and along with the EZ commands, run trains with my friends and kids without having to move to the more advanced systems.