News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Running in locos

Started by bluebar2, August 24, 2008, 09:54:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bluebar2

Hi all from Australia,
I'm a newbie who is soon about to start running trains on my new layout.  I understand that locos need to be run in but could you please tell me the correct way to do just that. Should they be run flat out, at varying speeds and forwards and reverse? Also for what time period (roughly)? I have a number of DCC equipped Bachmann diesel locos which have only been test run a couple of feet.  Is it preferable to do this in DC rather than DCC.
Thank you in anticipation

Yampa Bob

Bluebar

I break in all my locos, DC or DCC on a DC powered track. I never put a DCC loco on DCC power until it is limbered up and running smoothly. A loco that is sluggish, has any binding or roughness, can cause the decoder to overheat.

Turn the throttle to about 1/3 and run once around the track, listen and observe.  The loco may run a bit jerky or may even stall.  Advance throttle to 1/2 and run a lap or two, then reverse direction and repeat.  Then run at full throttle a few laps, reverse direction and repeat.  Run at varied speeds for a few minutes. Once you feel it is running smoothly, reduce throttle as low as possible, to the point where the loco barely crawls.  It should move smoothly with no hesitations.

At this point I generally do a full throttle speed test.  For HO scale, this is very simple, because the formula can be simplified to:  "Feet per minute traveled very closely equals scale miles per hour".  Determine the distance in feet around the track and write it down.  Run the loco at full throttle, count the laps made for one minute.  Multiply the laps by the length of the oval.  This gives you the number of feet traveled in one minute, which closely equals "Scale miles per hour".