News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

HO Scale loop problem

Started by treno, December 12, 2008, 07:27:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

treno

I am a total rookie.  I have set up my HO layout and have made an inside  loop that shorts out.  I was told to pick up some auto reversing track to cure the problem.  This has done nothing.  How do you cure this??? Signed, Treno

Paul M.

Is it a reverse loop (loop that causes the train to switch direction)? If so, you'll have to do some complex wiring to change that.

Can you show us the track plan of your layout?

-Paul
[
www.youtube.com/texaspacific

SteamGene

Is this DC or DCC?  In any event you need to isolate the reverse loop if such be the case.
Gene
Chief Brass Hat
Virginia Tidewater and Piedmont Railroad
"Only coal fired steam locomotives"

treno

Paul M.

-Paul
[
www.youtube.com/texaspacific

taz-of-boyds

Treno,

Not having seen a diagram of your track makes it hard to work with directly.  But if you spend some time here:

http://www.wiringfordcc.com/track_2.htm#c4

You should find this material very useful.  Allan Gartner has a tremendous amount of material well documented for DCC.  Please let us know how it turns out!

Charles

grumpy

Treno
If you are using a reverse loop purchase a Digitrax AR1  . It doesn't matter if it is DC or DCC it will work in both cases . From EXperience.
Don

pdlethbridge

According to digitrax, it's DCC only. Here's why according to them.
It is a common misconception that the AR1 will work with an analog controlled ("DC") locomotive; it will not. The AR1 is meant to be used only in a DCC environment. This is because the AR1 coordinates the electrical phase of the reversing segment with that of the mainline segment. Because DCC is a square wave AC power, track polarity is not an issue as it is with DC powered railroads.
Well. Who's right?

grumpy