News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Automatic HO Uncouplers

Started by lwmlwm44, May 03, 2009, 07:35:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lwmlwm44

I am the first to admit that I am new to alot of Model Railroading.   I have a Bachmann DCC layout with EZ track grey roadbed and also have a run using Atlas track code 100.    I would like to put in some uncouplers for both sets of tracks and would like to have automatic uncouplers if such a critter exists.    I see some types of uncouplers on Ebay and not for sure how they work.    If I remember correctly years ago there was a uncoupler type track that had 2 narrow wires between the track that when you stopped the car over it and I think you had to back up the train a bit and they go forward, the car would uncouple.   

I would like to know if there are any automatic uncouplers that I can get where they may be activated from my control panel where my transformers are.   Or what kind of uncouplers are available that would work with my EZ track and atlas...........knowing the same kind may not work on both tracks due to the built in roadbed on the EZ Track.

What types of uncouplers do you folks use on your bench.

Thanks for any help you can offer

Larry

rustyrails

The knuckle-type couplers that have become the de facto standard for HO trains are based on a Kadee patent.  The original Kadees uncoupled with a mechanical ramp.  In the early 60's Kadee went to a magnetic ramp, the same design as is used today.